Sonic Temple 30th Anniversary - Vinyl

By: The Cult

Sonic Temple 30th Anniversary - Vinyl
NEW 1 available


2019 marks the 30th anniversary of The CultYs seminal album SONIC TEMPLE. On September 13th, Beggars Arkive will reissue the album. Now cut onto two pieces of black vinyl, the audio is improved and contains 16 tracks total, which comprise the original album plus 6 B-sides. In addition to the reissue, a box set and 5-cd set are also being released. Originally released in 1989, Sonic Temple proved to be a pivotal moment for both band and the wider rock scene. Produced by the legendary Bob Rock, Sonic Temple had four chart-topping singles; YFire WomanY, YEdie (Ciao Baby)Y, YSun KingY and YSweet Soul SisterY. In a recent interview about the album, Ian Astbury explained how the band brought together hard rock and indie rock to create the unique, game-changing sounds on Sonic Temple. YWe wanted to retain our core DNA as we went deeper into psych and hard rock influences. It was a complete immersion for me into art, film, music, poetry and literature, weaving those influences into what was to become Sonic Temple. The band was becoming more popular. We were in uncharted waters. Most of the bands we had come up with had split up or fallen off. We were accelerating. There was no real time to breathe. We were forming new allegiances and breaking the glass ceiling of Ythe indie outsider.YY The album catapulted The Cult into superstar status and remains their most commercially successful release. It has sold over 1.5 million copies in the US alone, and was declared platinum in 1990. It made it to #10 on the Billboard charts, and the above mentioned songs are all rock-radio staples to this day. The Cult continues to record and tour and they have released six albums since Sonic Temple, the most recent being Hidden City in 2016. TheyYve been spending 2019 celebrating this album by performing all over the world on a tour theyYve billed as A Sonic Temple, paying homage to the album.
Disc: 1
  1. Sun King
  2. Fire Woman
  3. American Horse
  4. Edie (Ciao Baby)

Disc: 2
  1. Sweet Soul Sister
  2. Soul Asylum
  3. New York City
  4. Automatic Blues

Disc: 3
  1. Soldier Blue
  2. Wake Up Time For Freedom
  3. Medicine Train
  4. The River

Disc: 4
  1. Bleeding Heart Graffitti
  2. Messin'' Up The Blues
  3. Fire Woman (NYC Rock Mix)
  4. Edie (Ciao Baby) (Acoustic)
Learn More!
Not sure about what you're getting? Check out our record grading guidelines here at our Grading Page.