Mciii - Vinyl

By: Mikal Cronin

Mciii - Vinyl
USED 1 available


On May 5, Mikal Cronin will return with MCIII. Marked by the lush arrangements, stunning melodies, and deeply personal lyrical work for which Cronin is now known, the album is also a deliberate attempt to simply Ygo big.Y As he did on his self-titled 2011 debut and 2013Ys MCII, Cronin arranged and played nearly all of the record himself, including the tzouras, a traditional Greek string instrument he heard and subsequently bought while on tour in Athens. ThereYs French horn, saxophone, and trumpet. There are mood-altering crescendos and heartbreaking turns-of-phrase, guitars both gorgeous and pugnacious. No longer satisfied with the sound of Yjust one string player,Y Cronin arranged parts for a full string quartet instead. YItYs a continuation of what IYve been trying to do up until now, but IYm finding a better way to do it,Y he says. YIYm finding a more successful way of working those unexpected elements and textures and instruments into a rock record, of exploring that wormhole and mushing everything together harmoniously. I like riding the line between the two,Y he adds. YI like finding new ways to bring different musical worlds together.Y
  1. Turn Around
  2. Say
  3. Made My Mind Up
  4. Feel Like
  5. I''ve Been Loved
  6. i) Alone
  7. ii) Gold
  8. iii) Control
  9. iv) Ready
  10. v) Different
  11. vi) Circle

Cover: VG+
LP: M-
Learn More!
Not sure about what you're getting? Check out our record grading guidelines here at our Grading Page.